Educator of the Year

Educator of the Year (4)

Each year, awards are presented to one outstanding teacher in an elementary or high school and to one outstanding early childhood educator. The awards are presented at the annual Educators’ Conference in October.

The nominee for Nebraska District Outstanding Lutheran Educator shall:

  • Have a Lutheran Teachers Diploma and be on the Commissioned Minister roster of The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod.
  • Be actively serving as a teacher or administrator in a Nebraska District Lutheran school. The nominee may be a teacher at any level from early childhood through high school or an administrator.

Nomination Process:

  • Peers, pastors, parents, or school board members may nominate candidates for the award.
  • Completed nomination forms must be submitted before the deadline.
  • After the pool of nominees has been narrowed, the selection committee will contact school administrators for additional information.

To nominate an educator, complete and submit the form online at this Google Forms link (no Gmail account required). Nominations are due to the District Office on or before September 20 of each year.



Previous Award Recipients

Early Childhood
Educator of the Year
Elementary/High School
Educator of the Year
2015 Kay Storck–Lamb of God, Omaha Harlan Anson–Our Redeemer, Staplehurst
2014 Dawn Gilfry–Trinity, Fremont Steve Zehnder–Concordia Jr./Sr. High, Omaha
2013 Connie Dirks–Trinity, Lincoln Jim Knoepfel–Trinity, Fremont
2012 Lauren Sommerer–St. John CDC, Seward Lynette Naber–Emmanuel/Faith, York
2011 Shery Fiene–King of Kings, Omaha Karen Reynolds–Concordia, Omaha
2010 Lisa Stirtz–Wee Lambs, Gretna Janice Endorf–Zion, Tobias
2009 Sue Sylvester–St. John, Seward
2008 Cassandra McMahan–Faith, Lincoln
2007 Bob Saeger–Immanuel, Polk
2006 Dallas Koffarnus–Zion, Hastings
2005 Darla Rosendahl–Concordia, Omaha
2004 Paul Leckband–Lutheran High Northeast

Comments are closed